The Maine Press Association Hall of Fame honors newspaper people with Maine connections who have made outstanding contributions to the profession. Here are its members.
(* inducted posthumously):

Inducted 1998
J. Russell Wiggins, publisher, The Ellsworth American
John Gould, columnist, Christian Science Monitor
*Guy P. Gannett, founder, Gannett newspapers
*Erwin Canham, editor, Christian Science Monitor
*Brooks Hamilton, University of Maine journalism department head

Inducted 1999
Henry and Eula Shorey, owners, The Bridgton News
Harry Foote, owner and editor, American Journal
*Gene Letourneau, outdoor columnist, Guy Gannett newspapers

Inducted 2000
*Ralph “Bud” Leavitt, outdoor writer, editor, Bangor Daily News
*Elijah Parish Lovejoy, abolitionist editor from Albion, Maine
Peter Cox and John Cole, founders, Maine Times

Inducted 2001
Walter E. Mattson, president, The New York Times Co.
Alexander Bacon “Sandy” Brook, owner, York County Coast Star
*May Craig, Washington correspondent, Portland Press Herald
Barbara N. Yeaton, correspondent, Sun Journal and The Franklin Journal

Inducted 2002
*Bill Langzetell, The Associated Press correspondent
Don Larrabee, congressional correspondent
Robert G. “Bob” Drake, editor, Kennebec Journal and Morning Sentinel
Sam and Abby Roberts, owners, The Lincoln County News

Inducted 2003
*Davis S. Rawson, political reporter and editorial writer
Jerry Durnbaugh, owner, Blue Hill Weekly Packet
*Daniel S. Dexter, editor and editorial writer, Lewiston Journal
Douglas E. Kneeland, reporter and editor, The New York Times

Inducted 2004
Dick Doyle, sportswriter, Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram
Jack Faulkner, editor, Northeast Publishing
Kent Ward, reporter, editor, columnist, Bangor Daily News
*Wayne Jordan, founder, University of Maine journalism department

Inducted 2005
Raymond E. Gross, editor and publisher, The Courier-Gazette
*Lillis Towle Jordan, publisher, Bangor Daily News
David Lamb, national and foreign correspondent, Los Angeles Times
A. Stephen Riley, editor and reporter, Guy Gannett newspapers, MPA executive secretary

Inducted 2006
*Dwight E. Sargent, editorial page writer and editor, curator of the Nieman Foundation
Bob Saunders, editor and reporter, Journal Tribune
*Sheila Tenggren, editor and publisher, Lincoln News

Inducted 2007
*Bill Caldwell, columnist, Portland Press Herald and Maine Sunday Telegram
*Peter Damborg Jr., State House reporter, Guy Gannett newspapers
Robert Moorehead, general manager, Morning Sentinel
Ted Sylvester, Rockland bureau chief, Bangor Daily News

Inducted 2008
*Robert B. Beith, editor, publisher, Guy Gannett newspapers
Jim Brunelle, political reporter, columnist and commentator
*Campbell B. Niven, publisher, The Times Record
*Polly Ouimet, news editor, Lewiston Sun Journal

Inducted 2009
James R. Costello, publisher, Sun Media Group
Robert K. Diebold, editor, The Penobscot Times
*Clayton LaVerdiere, columnist and reporter, Central Maine Morning Sentinel
*John K. Murphy, executive editor, Portland Press Herald

Inducted 2010
*Bill Clark, columnist, Guy Gannett newspapers
*Bob DeLong, photographer, Bangor Daily News
Don Levesque, editor and publisher, St. John Valley Times

Inducted 2011
Beurmond Banville, reporter, Bangor Daily News
*David Bourque, sports editor, Brunswick Times Record
*Seba Smith, editor, Portland Courier, Maine’s first daily newspaper

Inducted 2012
Mary Brewer, managing editor, Boothbay Register/Wiscasset Newspaper
Ann B. McGowan, managing editor, Morning Sentinel

Inducted 2013
Don Hansen, editorial page editor, Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Evening Express
Scott Haskell, photographer and photo editor, Bangor Daily News
Emery “Legs” Labbe, sportswriter and publisher, St. John Valley Times